Wonder Club world wonders pyramid logo

Video Game Vintage Title Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

XBOX360 | PS3 | ATARI | XBOX | PS2
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4. It was developed by Square Enix with Naoki Yoshida as producer and director, and was released worldwide on August 27, 2013. The game supports Japanese, English, French, and German languages. Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn takes place in the fictional land of Eorzea, five years after the events of the original release. At the conclusion of Final Fantasy XIV, the primal dragon Bahamut escapes from its prison inside an artificial moon to initiate the Seventh Umbral Era, an apocalyptic event which destroys much of Eorzea. Through the gods' blessing, the player character escapes the devastation by time traveling five years into the future. As Eorzea recovers and rebuilds, the player must deal with the impending threat of invasion by the Garlean Empire from the north.

The original Final Fantasy XIV was released in September 2010 to largely negative reviews. As a result of this poor reception, then-Square Enix President Yoichi Wada announced that a new team, led by Yoshida, would take over development of the title. This team was responsible for generating content for the original version as well as developing a brand new game which would address all of the previous release's criticisms. Initially dubbed "Version 2.0", Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn features a new engine, improved server structures, revamped gameplay and interface, and a new story. The fourth and final beta test concluded on August 19, 2013. Early access for preorders and players with Legacy status began on August 24.

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Plot

During the events of Final Fantasy XIV, the Garlean Empire launches a campaign to subdue the beastmen and city-states of Eorzea. To this end, one of their Legatus, Nael van Darnus, uses ancient magic and technology to summon Hydaelyn's second moon, Dalamud, so it would fall on Eorzea and cleanse it. Though the Legatus is defeated, the damage is done and the moon continues to fall. The Garlean Empire and the Eorzean Alliance finally clash on the Carteneau Flats in Mor Dhona, the impact site of Dalamud. As they fight, Dalamud breaks up in the sky and releases the ancient Primal Bahamut, who proceeds to start laying waste to Eorzea, instigating the Seventh Umbral Era. After the attempt to reseal Bahamut fails, the Archon Louisoix sends the remnants of the Eorzean Alliance's army, including the Adventurers (player characters), forward into the future while remaining behind to face certain death.

Five years later, the Adventurers reappear, their memories blurred by the journey, during a time of reconstruction of Eorzea. The story of A Realm Reborn revolves around old and new players piecing together the intervening events between the unleashing of Bahamut and the present, and helping with the rebuilding of Eorzea, which brings them into conflict with the Beastmen tribes, the Garlean Empire and the secretive Ascians.

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Gameplay

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is an MMORPG and features many of the trappings of the genre. Players create and customize their characters for use in the game, including name, race, gender, facial features, and starting class. Unlike in the original release, players may only choose to be a Disciple of War or Magic as a starting class—Disciples of the Hand and Land are initially unavailable. Players must also select a game world for characters to exist on. While servers are not explicitly delineated by language, data centers have been placed in the supported regions (i.e., North America, Europe, Japan) to improve the communication latency between the server and the client computer and players are recommended to choose a server in their region. Regardless of server or language, the game features a large library of automatically translated game terms and general phrases which allow players who speak different languages to communicate.

SettingFinal Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn takes place in the fictional world of Hydaelyn, a rich world filled with multiple environments and climates covering three large continents. The continent on which the game is set is called Eorzea. Ancient lore said that Eorzea used to be the land occupied by The Twelve, Hydaelyn's ancient deities, who themselves sprang along with all Hydaelyn's life from the Mothercrystal, a sentient crystal that is one of the focal points of the story. Eorzea is split up into multiple city-states, three of which the player can start from: the Nation of Gridania, the Sultanate of Ul'dah, and the thalassocracy of Limsa Lominsa. Alongside these are the theocracy of Ishgard, the scholar's city of Sharlayan, the barren lands of Mor Dhona, and the occupied city-state of Ala Mhigo. The continent to the north of Eorzea is home to the Garlean Empire, a militaristic state which sees the people of Eorzea as backward and ripe for conquest, and acts as the main antagonistic force of the game.

Eorzea's history is dominated by the alternation between periods of prosperity and civilization — the Astral Eras — and periods of destruction and calamity — the Umbral Eras, each of which bears the characteristics of one of the world's elements. The Twelve vanished after the First Umbral Era, ushering the age of Eorzea's current residents. The Sixth Astral Era of Light was ended during the final moments of Final Fantasy XIV, when the Seventh Umbral Era was initiated.

Complaints | Blog | Digital Media | Souls | Obituary | Contact Us | Books | FAQ