Wonder Club world wonders pyramid logo WonderClub Facebook WonderClub Tweet   WonderClub RSS feed Join WonderClub's Twitter Page Join WonderClub's Facebook Page
World Wonders
Video Games

Sonic Generations

Sonic Generations

Sonic Generations

Sonic Generations is a platform video game published by Sega and developed by Sonic Team for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 platforms. The Microsoft Windows version of the game was developed by Devil's Details and the Nintendo 3DS version of the game was developed by Dimps. Released in November 2011 in North America, Europe and Australia and in December 2011 in Japan, the game was released in commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the original Sonic the Hedgehog game's release. On July 2, 2012, the game was made available for digital download on PlayStation Network, and was made available on the Games on Demand service on October 16, 2012. It is also available on the Nintendo eShop.

The Japanese releases are each given subtitles: the Xbox 360/PS3 version of the game is given White Spacetime while the 3DS version is given Blue Adventure .

Sonic Generations Plot

In the beginning of the game, Sonic the Hedgehog is holding a birthday celebration with his friends. However, a mysterious entity known as the Time Eater arrives and uses "time holes" to scatter everyone across different points in history. After being knocked out by the Time Eater, Sonic finds himself in White Space. After Sonic rescues his best friend Miles "Tails" Prower, they discover versions of themselves from the past, referred to as "Classic Sonic" and "Classic Tails", who are depicted with the appearance and proportions used in concept art from the Sega Genesis era of Sonic games. As the two Tails determine that Time Eater's actions are damaging time and space itself, both Classic and "Modern" Sonic race through their history, restoring time to normal and rescuing their friends. Throughout the course of the game, Classic and "Modern" Sonic encounter Doctor Eggman and his classic self, referred to as "Classic Eggman", and collect the seven Chaos Emeralds.

When the worlds are restored and the Chaos Emeralds are collected, the Sonics discover that the mastermind behind the now perfected Time Eater are the two Eggmans. "Modern" Eggman reveals his plot to complete the Time Eater Robot by joining forces with his past self and harnessing the Time Eater's power. Therefore, Eggman will erase his past defeats from history. Although the Time Eater manages to overpower the two Sonics, the support of their friends and the power of the Chaos Emeralds allow them to transform into their Super forms and confront both versions of Eggman. The Sonics eventually destroy the Time Flyer, restoring time to its proper state. The heroes return to the present and continue celebrating Sonic's birthday. After the party, Classic Sonic and Classic Tails travel back to their own time as everyone says their farewells. After the credits, both versions of Eggman find themselves stuck in white space with seemingly no way out.

The 3DS version of the game largely follows the story of the home console versions.

Sonic Generations Gameplay

Sonic Generations is a platform game in which players control the titular Sonic the Hedgehog in two forms: Classic and Modern, in which their main objective is to must the seven Chaos Emeralds, free their friends and uncover the mystery behind the Time Eater, a mysterious entity who creates time holes. The game features levels derived from 20 years of Sonic history, spreading across three eras, each having three stages and two bosses from previous games: Classic, Dreamcast and Modern, which are played as either Classic Sonic or Modern Sonic. Classic Sonic's levels are strictly two dimensional side scrolling stages, using classic moves like the Spin Attack and Spin Dash, while Modern Sonic's levels follow the 2D/3D style gameplay of Sonic Unleashed and Sonic Colors, featuring techniques such as boosting and homing attacks. As well as classic power-ups such as Invincibility and Speed Shoes, certain levels have unique power-ups, such as skateboards in City Escape and Wisp powers in Planet Wisp.

Classic and Modern Sonic begin the game with six lives, which are lost when they suffer any type of damage with no rings in their possession, or fall into a pit or drown. More lives can be earned by getting 100 rings or finding a symbol to collect their lives. If the player runs out of lives, the "Game Over" screen will appear, in which the player can continue by selecting "Yes".

Each zone consists of a main act for each Sonic, as well as 10 challenges such as beating an opponent to the goal or finishing a stage with limited rings. A Skill Shop allows players to use points earned from high scores to unlock upgrades such as abilities, shields, and even the original Sonic the Hedgehog Genesis game. Completing challenges, as well as finding Red Star Rings hidden in each of the main Acts, unlocks additional skills, as well as bonus concept artwork and music. The music can then be played in any stage, challenge, or boss fight. There are also online leaderboards for two modes: Ranking Attack, which challenges players to obtain the best time and score on each level, and 30 Second Trial, which challenges players to see how far they can get through a level in 30 seconds.

The 3DS version follows similar gameplay to the Sonic Rush series for Modern Sonic, and features a different set of levels to the console and PC versions, some of which directly recreate the layouts of classic Mega Drive levels. As opposed to the Skill Shop in the console version, abilities are unlocked as the game progresses, with Classic Sonic learning a Homing Attack and Modern Sonic learning a stomp. Exclusive to the 3DS version are Special Stages, similar to those of Sonic Heroes, in which players must collect spheres in order to gain boost to chase after a Chaos Emerald. The game features 100 mission stages that are unlocked either by progressing through the game, meeting other players on StreetPass, or spending Play Coins, as well as both wireless and online multiplayer modes, in which two players can race against each other.

SettingThe setting of Sonic Generations feature a total of nine levels in the home console version while the 3DS version has seven levels. Each level is taken from the games of the main series. Levels must be played in order, although the player can replay any episode that has been completed. The story starts in White Space, a realm where time and space end up after they have been "erased" by being drained of color and life. The final moments of the game take place in the Center of Time.

Complaints | Coins | Blog | Kites | Digital Media | Magazines | Soul | Obituary | Outdoor Living | Golf | Homeopathy | Contact Us | Books | Makeup | Chat | FAQ